Lifecycle (Bel) There Is Hope Again; demo (1997)


Lifecycle cover


‘Lifecycle’ was a ‘new-school’ metal-influenced HC band from the Ieper/Kortrijk region (H8000 but not with that typical sound; because of the female vocals they reminded of ‘Shortsight’). On the recordings (at Michael ‘Link’ Maes’ home-studio) of this demo: Sofie Vantomme (vocals; co-founder Vincent Merveillie soon went on to sing for ‘Spirit Of Youth’), Karel Deweerdt (guitar), Steve Noyelle (guitar), Jurgen Degryse (bass; later replaced by Maarten Kinet, Peter Leuwers & Jelle Dobbelaere) and Jan ‘Relle’ Verhelst (drums; Jan Volckaert of ‘Resist The Pain’ stood in a few times during gigs; Vincent Tetaert joined in a later stage). A few years later a mini-album (CD) entitled Forever…Until… was recorded at 195 studio (released on SoberMind recs).

Some people in the H8000 scene (and outside) considered them “naïve idealist hippies”. In my book, however, a lot of the ‘genuine’ H8000 were ignorant, uncaring machos. The band never aimed at being a ‘real’ H8000-styled band, they just did their own thing and I value them for that…

Lifecycle line-up

Lifecycle lyricsLifecycle lyrics'

One response »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.