Monthly Archives: December 2015

Dawn Of Liberty (Bel) live (Aalst, Bel, 87-07-05)


DOL live Aalst

Anarcho-punx ‘Astrant’ changed their name into ‘Dawn Of Liberty’ in 1986 (read the interview I did in Tilt! #2). After their first gig for the Smurfpunx collective they added a second guitarist. These live recordings are from their second passage (87-07-05) – they did 4 shows @ Netwerk in Aalst. The band was ‘Tweeva’ Luc Deckers (bass), Danny Vandevelde (guitar), Stefan Joosten (vocals), ‘Fritz’ Danny Brebels (guitar) & Stijn Persoons (drums). They did a 7″, entitled In Honour And Defense Of Mother Earth – To Hurt Her Is To Hurt Us, on Kurt Horemans’ label Hurry recs (’89); and had a few tracks on compilation-tapes & -albums (e.g. Peaceville’s A Vile Peace, Nabate’s Exclusion)…

DOL live cover

DOL live tracksSide ASide B

DOL live lyrics

Dawn Of Liberty pose87-08-16 Dawn Of Liberty (1000 A)'''' (-)‘Dawn Of Liberty’; live @ 1000 Appeltjes, Antwerp, 87-08-16


>>Oorlogstuig!<< (Bel) compilation (1988)


Totaalweigeren (benefiet Bart Schoofs) cover

This was a benefit-tape for 2 guys (Jaak DC & Patrick H) who were ‘total-refusers’ (objecting to do military service, as well as civil service). People like them were facing jail-sentences and/or had to flee out of the country. Oorlogstuig! is a play on words and means ‘war-mongering scum’, and ‘weapons, ammunition and related equipment intended for war’. “Militarism Murders”… It was compiled by Bart Schoofs (at that time singer of ‘Taartje Aardbei’ and editor of Kwalpol zine). Our Smurfpunx-collective also organised a benefit-concert for the ‘V.I.A. Fonds’, an organisation set up to raise money in support for total-refusers…

Totaalweigeren (benefiet Bart Schoofs) info

Side ASide B

Totaalweigeren (benefiet Bart Schoofs) tracks

Bad Influence (Antwerp, Bel): Herwin De Winter & Chris(tel) Joosen (vocals), Joris Rombouts (drums), Bart Belmans (guitar), Danny Van Honsté (bass). [Herwin: “The song The Way I Feel has never been released anywhere else.”]

Deadly Serious (Helchteren, Bel): Steven ‘Swat’ Schepers, ‘Veld’ (drums; but here TR505) & Mark Thijs (bass).

Indecency (Brussels, Bel): Filip ‘Boule’ Burgelman (bass), Onno Hesselink (guitar), Dirk  Jans (drums), Chris Dexters (vocals) [In the very beginning they were called ‘Hyperactive Children’ and Kockie was singing… They went on as ‘5Les’ with Fons Ceuppens as vocalist. The tracks here were from thir gig on 87-09-19].

Instigators (Huddersfield, UK): Andy ‘Tez’ Turner (vocals), Simon Mooney (guitar), Steve ‘Cuzzy’ Curran, Andy (Andrew) ‘Trimble’ Turnbull (bass).

Kikkerspuug (Utrecht, Ned): Rob van Aller (guitar), Jerry van der Valk (drums), Jos / Frank Roemer (bass), Thomas van Straten (vocals).

Mulligrubs (Dilbeek, Bel): Frank Geeraert (guitar/vocals; plays in ‘Stiller‘ nowadays) [editor of Zin van de Onzin zine], Michel Walgraeve (bass), ? (drums)

No Fraud (Venice, Florida, USA): Dan ‘Destructo’ (vocals), Terry Huber (guitar), Jason ‘Buzz’ Cockrill (bass), Mike Shenkin (drums).

Political Asylum (Edinburgh, Scotland, UK): Ramsey Kanaan (vocals) Stephen (guitar), Keith Burns (drums), Ewan Hunt (bass).

President Fetch (Kopenhagen, Den): Anderz Nielsen (bass), Chris ‘Ant’ Juris (vocals), Per Eriksen (guitar), Martin Larsen (drums).

Scoundrels (Wernhout, Ned): Patrick DeLabie (vocals/guitar), Frank de Hoon (bass), Luc Proost (guitar), Geert ‘Bootsie’ Budts (drums).

Ultimate Sabotage (Nijmegen, Ned): Andre Bentlage (guitar; R.I.P.), Isabelle (vocals), ‘Loony’ (bass), ‘Chaos’ (drums; R.I.P.).

Vernon Walters (Hoorn, Ned): Joost Warnik (bass), Niels de Wit (guitar), Danny Schouten (drums), Hans Engel (vocals/guitar). [Niels: “Fast Cars was an out-take of the 1st LP.”]

W.C.F. (Winterwijk, Ned): Victor van Bruggen (vocals), Ronald Hogeboom (guitar), Lambert ‘Lampie’ van Druenen (drums), Harm Kortschoot (bass).

Totaalweigeren (benefiet Bart Schoofs) contacts

Totaalweigeren (benefiet Bart Schoofs) thx

Rawness (Fra) demo (1994)


Rawness cover x-Rawness tracksSide ASide B

‘Rawness’ played catchy melodic HC-punk. Some dubbed it “NYHC-influenced” (?!)… They were from the region between Dijon and Lyon: Jean-Marc Moratille (drums & vocals; ex ‘Blighted Area’ – he also did/does the JoliCoeur & Pay No More Than blogs), Michael (bass), Lamy Fumex (guitar & vocals; also ‘Thalidomide’) and Lionel Coing (vocals). Lionel send me this tape as a promo to get a gig. They did a split with ‘Personal Choice’ on Yann Boislève’s label in 1995. That CD shared some of the demo-tracks but they were from another recording-session. Maloka (an anarcho-punk collective from Dijon) also did a 7″ for them in 1998. The band played the Vort’n Vis on 95-09-16.

My review of the tape (Tilt! #8): >> Pretty energizing, thrashy HC; fast and aiming for the guts, with a firm chunk of mosh every now and then. Way about average! <<

Rawness lyricsRawness lyrics'