Monthly Archives: March 2021

School Of Violence (USA) promo (1987)


Tracks: Religion / Stranger / Reign Of The Clown / Following Blind / U.S.B.S. / Man At The Top

When I travelled to Kopenhagen and Odense (Denmark) – summer of 1986 – I ran into Karl Agell in Anderz Nielsen’s flat. Karl was the singer of the Connecticut-based HC band ‘Seizure’… A few years later I received a promotional copy of We The People…?, the album of ‘School Of Violence’ (NYC metal/crossover band) for which Karl was doing the vocals. It was released on Death recs (a division of Metal Blade recs)…

review in Metallised #9

This tape is from the collection of Steven ‘Stel’ R. The cover is the same as a tape which was recorded live @ C.B.G.B. in 1986 (but there’s different tracks listed). The song Religion was also on the Complete Death II compilation. The others appeared on the album. Apparently Brian Childers (later in ‘Crawlpappy‘) was just replaced by Karl Agell (ex ‘Seizure’, later ‘C.O.C.’). The others in the band were M.S. Evans (drums), Rick Stone (bass) and Stegmon Von Heintz (guitar).


This demo is with previous singer Brian Childers. We were friends. He died several years ago.

Karl Agell

Moskwa (Pol) Nigdy!; demo (1986)


(side 1):

*** Nigdy! (“never”) / Za Kratami (“behind bars”) / Tylko Patrzymy (“we’re just watching”) / Czarna Data (“black date”) / Powietrza (“air”) / Wasze Ja (“yourself”) / Światło (“light”) / Propaganda / Fita Fita (“”) / Dzień Ocalenia (“salvation day”) [demo]

*** California / Last Rites / Znów Zle (“bad again”) [live in Bialystok, Feb. ’87]

(side 2):

*** Wstawaj I Walcz (“get up and fight”) / Slogan / Pokolenie Małp (“generation of monkeys”) / Sam Dalej (“himself next”) / Vistula (Latin name for the river Wisła) / Problem / Samobójstwa (“suicides”) / Masturbacja (masturbation”) / Krzyk (“scream”) / Koniec (“the end”) [demo]

*** Co Dzień/ Samobójstwa (“suicides”) / Zdrada (“betrayal”) [studio 1984]

Steven ‘Stel’ R. donated this tape from the Polish (Łódź) HC/punk band ‘Moskwa‘. It contains the demo and some extras (studio-recordings from 1984 and live in Białystok Feb. 1987) On the demo the line-up was ‘Guma’ Paweł Gumola (guitar/vocals), ‘Balon’ Dariusz Adryańczyk (bass/vocals) & ‘Wózek’ Jarek Woźniak (drums). By the time this tape was sent out ‘Guma’ was joined by Dariusz Malejonek (bass) & ‘Gogo’ Tomasz Kożuchowski (drums; also in ‘Armia’).

review in Metallised #11

A bit after this they released (on a Polish state label; there was no other way back then) their first (self-titled) LP which I reviewed in Tilt! #5: >>An album that reached me via East-Berlin… It sursprised me not just a little bit ’cause it doesn’t sound Polish at all (whatever that might be…). You’ll understand I can’t say much about the lyrics. Their music is fast HC with some cross-over touches and sounds very good. It’s certainly worth your attention.<<


We wanted to play punk-rock and recorded the Nigdy! tape for the main reason to get concerts, and to send out a decent message and offer people music different from what was on the radio/TV (that was just shit)…

Paweł Gumola

>>Dirty Methods To Survive?<< (various) compilation (1988)


(A) Police Patrol / Gimme Gimme Gimme (‘Black Flag’ cover) / Black Mind / Slavery / Animal Aid – ‘Capital Scum’ * Sharon – ‘Afflict’ * Sexist Minds / Olympia / Overpowered – ‘Disgorge’ * Noise Gate / Fascist Skins / Go Skate Or Go Home – ‘Repulsives’ * The Lesson / What’s Worse / I Only Wanna Be With You (Dusty Springfield cover) -‘Bambix’ * Why Did You Push My Love Away / Chichuahua Pearl / California – ‘Shooting Skippies’

(B) I Wanna See The Ramones / Drinking The Night Away – ‘The Dirty Scums’ * Zondags Geweld (“sunday violence”) / Nasty Ronny / Love Me Like A Reptile (‘Motörhead’ cover) – ‘Rough Justice’ * Histoire D’Horreur (“horror story”) / Les Cosaques (“the Cossacks“) – ‘M.S.T.’ * What You Think / An Inhuman Choice / Blind And Deaf – ‘Cry Of Terror’ * Myśli Zgon (“thought decease”) / Czas Apokalipsy (“time apocalypse”) – ‘The Corpse’ * Umysłowa Orgia (“mental orgy”) – ‘Nadzór’ *  ‘One Night Away’ – ‘Deadly Serious’

This was compiled by ‘Stoffy’ Kristof Van der Linden from Geraardsbergen. He was a friend of ‘The Dirty Scums’. Can’t remember who eventually released it but it was issued as a benefit for animal-rights action-groups. My mate ‘Leffe’ did a post on System/Sabotage/Chaos but the tracks are no longer availbale there…


Afflict (Eindhoven, Ned): ‘Scheet’ Martin Voorbij (bass), Ronny Verstraeten/ Mark Sparrius (guitar), ‘Juju’ Grotjans (drums), ‘Dr. J. Faustus’ Eeuwout Baart (vocals)

Bambix (Nijmegen, Ned): Nathalie Delisse (guitar), Willia ‘Wick’ van Houdt (drums/vocals), Maniet ‘Petite’ Voets (bass)

Capital Scum (Scherpenheuvel, Bel): ‘Pies’ Peter Laermans (vocals; possibly ‘Vark’ Filip Pauwels here), ‘Larrie’ Paul Laermans (guitar), Jurgen Surinx (bass), ‘Sox’ Filip Mulders (drums)

Cry Of Terror (Winterswijk, Ned): Hans Aalbers (vocals), Peter/Pierre ter Bogt (drums; R.I.P.), Walter Raben (bass), Wouter Maarse (guitar)

Deadly Serious (Helchteren, Bel): ‘Veld’ Edwin Vande Velde a.k.a. ‘The Big Blaster’ (drums), ‘Swat’ a.k.a. The Mighty PhD’ (vocals/guitar)

Disgorge (De Panne/Veurne, Bel): Jean-Luc Beyen (guitar/vocals), Tommy Viaene (drums), ‘Billy’ Johan Vieren (bass)

M.S.T. (Paris, Fra): Jean(not) Chaperon (drums), ‘Mickey Maouss’ Mickael Pichet (vocals: R.I.P.), Amédée (bass), Bouss(ad) ‘Boussman’ Lacheb (guitar), Christophe ‘Teuf’ (guitar, ex ‘Sherwood’)

Nadzór (Oświęcim, Pol): ‘SzpilaJanusz Piech (guitar), ‘Zeman’ Artur Żemła (drums), ‘Faji’ Tomasz Frej (bass; replaced ‘Polo’ Robert Wanat)

Repulsives (Tielt, Bel): Bart ‘Stinky Vanseveren (vocals/guitar; R.I.P.), Brob Tilt (guitar), Dirk Pattyn (drums), ‘Disorder’ Stefaan Dedeurwaerder/Joeri Arteel (bass)

Rough Justice (Aalst, Bel): Koen Taeleman (vocals), Piet Marcoen (guitar), Manu Cambier (bass), Joost Vandenbroeck (drums)

Shooting Skippies (Uden, Ned): Rens/’Mosje’ (vocals), ‘Skip’ Raymond Blom (bass), Ad Donkers (guitar), ‘Citroen’ Jeroen van den Brink (drums) [Roger was a temporary guitarist]

The Corpse (Łódź, Pol): Mariusz ‘Jakób’ Jakóbczak (guitar), Slawek Czubski (vocals), Jarek ‘Kuba’ Kupczyk (bass), Tomek ‘Johnny’ Chrzanowski (drums)

The Dirty Scums (Tielt, Bel): Bart ‘Pik’ D’Ooghe (guitar/vocals), Jan ‘Zjantie’ Den Baes (drums), Chris ‘Jenz’ Lannoo (bass)


Suckspeed (Ger) promo/demo (1988)


Listen! (side 1) & (side 2)

A tape from Steven ‘Stel’ R.’s collection, who reviewed it in Metallised #11:

This thrash/crossover band from Hannover (formed in 1987) recorded these tracks with Guido Steinchen (guitar/vocals), ‘Stoffi’ Olaf Krebs (guitar/vocals), ‘Michi’ Michael Bothe (bass/vocals) & ‘Ollie’ Oliver Bertram (drums; ex ‘Smarties’). The songs also appeared on theirst first album The Day Of Light (on Jörg Schaper’s Funhouse recs; 1989). References were made to (early) ‘Metallica’ & ‘Prong’. In the early 90s the original guitarists were replaced by Ingo Schröder. They signed to We Bite recs…