Tag Archives: Spermbirds

>>Peace, Unity, Love And Having Fun In Belgium!!!<< (various) compilation (1988)


“18 bands, 52 times live” in Belgium; recorded by Jan ‘Bux’ De Vriendt (who used to register many a Belgian gig back in the 80s). More extensive recordings elsewhere on these pages…

side Aside B

Spermbirds (Kaiserslautern, Ger): Lee Hollis (vocals), ‘Beppo’ Matthias Götte (drums), Frank Rahm (guitar), Joe Strübe (bass) – 87-11-01, Scherpenheuvel

Ear Damage (Leuven, Bel): Marc Verbeeck (bass/vocals), Dirk Ceustermans (guitar/vocals), Robin ‘Bie’ Puttemans (drums) – 87-11-07, Wakken

Attitude (San Francisco, Cal): Andy Andersen (vocals), Rick Strahl (bass), Chris Scaparro (guitar), Joey Devlin (drums) – 87-11-15, Scherpenheuvel

Disgorge (De Panne, Bel): Jean-Luc Beyen (guitar/vocals), Tommy (drums), Billy (bass) – 87-11-07, Wakken

Ripcord (Weston-super-Mare, UK): John Millier (drums), Steve ‘Baz’ Ballam (guitar), Brian ‘Buzby’ Birchell (vocals), Steve Hazzard/ Jim Whiteley (bass) – 87-06-27, Aalst & 88-01-30, Aalst

Brain Dead (Tielt/Eeklo, Bel): Bart ‘Stinky’ Vanseveren (drums) Koen ‘Scampie’ Vercampt (guitar), Bart ‘Bassie’ Van Haele (bass), ‘Skelle’ Koen Allaert (vocals) – 87-11-07, Wakken

Lethal Gospel (San Francisco, Cal): Mattx Bergren (guitar/vocals), Dan Seelig (drums), Fred LaRose (bass) @ 87-10-11, Aalst

Dona Nobis Pacem (Antwerp, Bel): Manfred ‘Munpie’ Vinck (guitar/vocals), Dirk Wouters (bass), Gerrit (guitar), Alex (drums) – 87-11-07, Wakken

Hate Crew (Laarne/Wetteren, Bel): Kris Fiers (vocals), Guy Temmerman (bass), Philippe ‘Mone’ Crombeen (drums), Guido Duytschaever (guitar), Bruno ‘Duco’ (guitar) – 87-11-21, Wakken

Creep Insanity (Eeklo, Bel): Bart ‘Bassie’ Van Haele (bass), Peter ‘Rabbit’ Ginneberge (drums), Peter ‘Trash’ De Zutter (guitar/vocals) – 87-10-25, Scherpenheuvel

Capital Scum (Scherpenheuvel, Bel): ‘Pies’ Peter Laermans/ ‘Vark’ Filip Pauwels (vocals), ‘Larrie’ Paul Laermans (guitar), Jurgen Surinx (bass) & ‘Sox’ Filip Mulders (drums) – 87-11-21, Wakken

Cry Of Terror (Winterswijk, The Netherlands): Pierre/Peter ter Bogt (drums), Wouter Maarse (guitar), Walter Raben (bass), Hans Aalbers (vocals) – 88-01-30, Aalst

Napalm Death (Birmingham/Coventry, UK): Mick Harris (drums), Lee Dorrian (vocals), Bill Steer (guitar), Jim Whiteley (bass) – 87-11-07, Wakken

Capitol Punishment (Fresno, Cal): Ralph Lotspeich (vocals), Dale Stewart (guitar), Joceylin Fedrau (bass), Mike Branum (drums) – 87-10-25, Scherpenheuvel

So Much Hate (Oslo, Nor): Børre Løvik (guitar), Finn-Erik Tangen (drums), Per-Arne Haugen (bass), Gunnar Nuven (vocals) – 87-11-01, Scherpenheuvel

Heibel (Diepenbeek, Bel): Erwin Reynders (bass), Jo Reynders (drums), Pé Reynders (guitar), Steven Luts (guitar), Peter Daniels (vocals) – 87-10-25, Scherpenheuvel

Heresy (Nottingham, UK): John March (vocals), Steve ‘Baz’ Ballam (guitar), Kalv(in) Piper (bass), Steve Charlesworth (drums) – 88-01-30, Aalst

Emils (Hamburg, Ger): Ilhami ‘Ille’ Dolma (vocals), Sven Carstens (bass), Carsten Zisowsky (drums), Oliver ‘Olli’ Makris (guitar/vocals) – 87-11-15, Scherpenheuvel

Spermbirds (Ger) live (Scherpenheuvel, Bel, 87-11-01)



Americans Are Cool / She’s Got VD / You’re Not A punk / Shit Job / Playboy Subscriber / Kill Me Quick / My God Rides A Skateboard / What A Bitch Is / Shit Rolls Downhill / Bed Tool / My Brother / It’s Just An Excuse / Get On The Stage / Bloodstains (‘Agent Orange’ [USA] cover) / Something To Prove / Try Again / 12XU (‘Wire’ cover) / Lights Out (‘Angry Samoans’ cover)

??? (track indicated as No Move) / You’re Not A punk

This a registration (courtesy of Jan ‘Bux’ De Vriendt) of the show they played for Hageland Hardcore gig (87-11-01) with ‘Ignition’ (USA), ‘So Much Hate’ (Ger), ‘Heibel’ & ‘Ear Damage’ (Bel). The band had played their first time for Smurfpunx earlier that year (87-07-05; their first Belgian passage was – I believe – on 87-02-14 @ Sint-Truiden) and had left quite an impression. The regular line-up at that time was Lee Hollis (vocals), Roger Ingenthron (guitar), Frank Rahm (guitar), Markus Weilemann (bass) & Matthias ‘Beppo’ Götte (drums). For some reason Markus wasn’t available and their former guitarist Joe Strübe replaced him on bass. The band would split up for the first time soon after…